'Vacation' begins
2004-07-03, 12:35 p.m.

So yesterday was the last 'offical' day of work for the next two weeks, but I of course will only end up with four actualy days off- one of the downsides of my job is that since Chrysler isn't shuttind down for two weeks like GM is, I'll have to be in there doing all my Chrysler duties, which completely blows. But I digress...

Since yesterday was the last day of work, a bunch of people got together after work and met over at Elsa's for drinks. I was the youngest person there with the exception of Celeste, who no longer actually works at Delphi, but she stays in touch with people form work, so she was there celebrating along with us. To make a long story short (too late), after a mere four hours, two people (one being Celeste) had to driven home. That is such bad form. Not that I'm a saint when it comes to drinking- far from it. But I just think it is so sloppy to get shit faced, especially in front of all of your co-workers, that your yak in the bathroom and have to call someone to pick you up- at 7:30pm. The frightening thing about it is that I had five 23 oz draft beers- which is basically the equivalent of 9 bottles, and I was ok. Poor Tom (who is 44) is sitting there next to me just repeating over and over again, "Oh my god- oh man- oh my god.." He was holding onto the wrought iron fencing just to keep from falling out of his crappy green plastic chair. I am more responsible than he is, or do I just have more practice with drinking? A little of both, perhaps. I know my limits. I know when I've had enough and I know when to quit.

I was looking after my neigbor's dog for a couple of days, and yesterday, just like any responsible pet sitter, I went rummaging through their things. I don't know these people all that well- they've got three little girls, he's a lawyer of some kind, and she's a stay at home mom. Its amazing to me what you can find out about people just be snooping through their stuff. I found a briefcase underneath their bed with all of this weird shit in it- birds wings and feet, the skinned off face of some kind of opposum or something, and all these different plastic bags filled with tobacco and crap like that. One of them looked an awful lot like pot, but it didn't smell of it- perhaps it was so old it had gone stale. And while on the subject, their house is a complete sty. I'm not a neat freak by any stretch of the imagination, but this was disgusting. And the decorating....my god. I don't think you could have put together anything more tacky than their house if you TRIED. Stevie Wonder could have picked out a better design scheme than they have. I blame her for just about all of it. Absolutely no style what so ever. And why is the house such a pit? She should be able to keep a better house than that, cosidering she doesn't work. Granted its summer time, and her kids aren't in school, so she has her hands full now. But I've been in there during the school year as well, and its just as bad. I think she's emotionally unstable. Speaking of dirty houses, I need to get my ass in gear cleaning mine. Anne and I are going to a Reds game this afternoon, and I don't know if she's going to end up coming over here afterwards, so I need to clean up in case she does. I don't even like baseball, but she does, so thats OK. Its something to do.

Shit, I should try and ger her and Erika's boyfriend together.....

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host