10 Steps
2004-09-10, 10:19 p.m.

Hi. My name is Jeff, and I am an alcoholic. I am still in awe of home much I drank last night. At 6:00, we went to the wine tasting at DLM. I had two glasses. We went to dinner at Pacchia's- mom and jim ordered a bottle of white, and I ordered a bottle of red, for myself. I damn near drank all of it during dinner. Mom and Jim wanted to go home instead of staying to hear the music, so I told the waiter to hold my bottle, and that I would be back. So I took mom and Jim home, drove back to the Jazz Room and finished the wine. Then I ordered a beer. Then Paccia's closed, so I went to Tanks and had two more pints. I don't remember driving home. I don't remember paying my tab at Tanks, but my wallet is empty, so I must have. I need to cut back. Seriously.

Mom and Jim leave tomorrow, thank god. It has been good having them here, but I am ready to have the house to myself again. Mom keeps trying to move shit around.

The one amusing thing about last night was Tanks. I got there already pretty buzzed off the wine and beer, obviously. I went up to the bar and a stool away from me was this little kid- probably a UD student. He was there with two girls, and had taken out his cell and plugged it in to a jack behind the bar to charge. So he just has his cell phone sitting there, and he goes and grabs a table for him and his friends- leaves the phone up at the bar!?!??! Who the fuck does that? He's lucky I didn't steal the fuckin' thing. What I did however, was to scrole through his address book and call his dad. Mind you, this is at like 1:30, 1:45 in the morning. I let it ring a couple of times, and then hung up. A minute later, the phone rings, and its his dad calling him back. So I'm sitting there laughing to myself while he explains to his dad that no, he didn't call- that he's at a bar and someone else was messing with his phone. I'm sure his dad loved to hear that his kid was closing down a bar on a school night. He doesn't say shit to me until right before they left. "Hey, man- that isn't cool messing with someone else's phone like that." To which I replied, "Well, you shouldn't have just left it up on the bar then, huh?" Was that a shitty thing to do? I thought it was hilarious at the time, but I kind of feel bad about it now. But come on! Who the fuck leaves their cell phone unattended at a bar!?!? I'll tell you who- a dumb ass UD student, thats who.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host