WWJD for a Klondike Bar?
2004-10-01, 9:44 p.m.

Why can't John McCain be president? He is the ONLY republican I've heard that has actually admitted that Bush got his ass kicked last night. Of course Bush's handlers scheduled another press conference for later that same day after they castrated him, and made him say good things about Bush's performance. I actually felt a little bad for Bush last night. He looked and acted completely lost. I was waiting for him to blurt out, "But this isn't fiar!" It was almost as if he's been so insulated from reality that he was completely blindsided by having to come out of 'ticket holders only' rallies and journalists wearing kid gloves, into the real world and that he didn't know what to do or say in the face of someone who is more articulate and informed than him. the 'aww shucks' thing worked against Gore simply because Bush didn't have to be held accountable for anything 4 years ago. He could act all folksy and not have to actually say or defend anything. Now that he actually has a record to defend, he realizes that a)the "those folks over there are evil" rhetoric makes him sound like a redneck who doesn't know shit when he uses it to talk specifics and b)his record is indefensible. I watched John Stewart after the debate, and he made one REALLY good observation- when Bush was asked when he thinks we'll be able to pull out of Iraq, he resonded "When the Iraqi people are prepared to start fighting for themselves". Stewart then chimed in, "Well, it seems to me, thats what they're doing right now". Amen. The people fighting us over there right now don't think of themselves as terrorists, they think of themselves as defenders of their country. And that is exactly what they are. Now, I know a lot of people over here in this country (myself included, obviously) are pretty upset and embarassed perhaps about us going into Iraq for what ended up being fabricated reasons. Now, how do you think the IRAQIS feel? We come in there, bomb the shit out of them, destroy their entire infrastructure- no electricity, no water, nothing. We occupy their country, arresting people and torturing them for no good reason. Now, wouldn't you be a little pissed if all of that was done to your country for reasons that were complete BULLSHIT? We're lucky we're the United States. The last time a country invaded another sovereign nation was, well shit! Guess what! It was when Iraq invaded Kuwait! How about that! the UN went in their and attacked them for doing it, and we just did the same thing that Iraq did 13 years ago. And we wonder why the Muslims in the Middle East don't trust us.... but I digress.
Bush just looked like a pouting baby up there. "But you can't win a war after you've admitted it was wrong! You can't!" Over and over and over again. That was all he said. and he pouted (he seriously did) whenever Kerry said something he didn't like. Had I been a Bush supporter, I would be embarassed right now. Seeing as how I live in afluent whity town, there are a lot of Bush supporters in my neighborhood. I took Billy Dee for a walk tonight and I counted placards. I saw 14 for Bush, and 7 for Kerry. I think I am going to count every week while I walk his majesty and see if the # or ratio changes over the weeks that the debates are going on. My own little neighborhood poll. I mean, if you like the guy enough to put his name in your yard, you must be a pretty die hard fan. Now that Bush's idiocy is actually being brought to light, Bush supporters are going to look stupid by association. I for one don't condone wearing your support for someone on your sleave. Those placards and bumberstickers are just pretentious as hell. In fact, ALL bumberstickers supporting something or someone are pretentious. Do you REALLY think that after seeing that W bumber sticker on your car, I'm going to swtch teams? You must think you're pretty damn special if you think that your "Pro Life" bumbersticker is going to make me, someone who has no idea who you are, change my stance on abortion. I can see it now. Someone is driving along the street, and they pull up behind someone at a light with a "Pro-Life" sticker on their bumber. The guy reads it and thinks to himself, "Pro-Life, huh? That guy is pro-life....wow. Damn, he's driving a lexus, too. If he's driving a lexus, and he's pro-life, maybe if I stop supporting a woman's right to choose, I could get a lexus, too!" Get over yourselves, people. No one else on the road gives two squirts of piss about how you think Jesus Saves. I saw one the other day that said, "Vote the Bible". What the FUCK does THAT mean? Vote the Bible? Is Jesus on the ballot this year? I would have thought they would have let him in the debate if JESUS was on the ballot. I mean, I can see how Noah would be shoved aside like Nader, but JC? You'd think he'd have an 'in' with Mr. Born Again Himself in the oval office. Bible thumpers make me sick. You're religious, thats cool. But I don't need your car trying to convert me. Christians are the ONLY ones who do this, too. Have you ever seen a jewish or islamic bumbersticker? I'd like to see some. I want to see one that says, "Abraham Rocks!" Or perhaps, "Allah is the Bomb-Diggidy" Why are Chrisitians the only ones who think its important to shove their beliefs down your throat in this country? Keep your religion to yourself, like the rest of the religions do, and stop thinking you're the answer to everyone's problems. FUCK. Too bad Mary didn't have a coat hanger back then- this world would be a better place if that little shit had never been born.

note: I don't take credit for the name of the entry- I saw it on a T-Shirt.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host