Leaving NYC
2004-10-25, 10:00 a.m.

OK- I'll do my best to fill everyone in on my weekdend in NYC before I have to leave for the aiport in about 45 minutes....

Got her Friday night, and Lissa and I went out to dinner...she said she was going to buy since she just got a promotion at her job, but once she saw the bottle of wine I ordered, she changed her mind. No big deal...I didn't expect her to buy anyway. we had a really nice dinner, and then came home and proceeded to get completely stoned off our asses.

On Saturday, we went into downtown Manhatten- the ony thing I wanted to see was the huge hole where the WTC used to stand. I refuse to refer to it as ground zero, by the way. Ground Zero is the term used for the initial detonation site of a nuclear weapon, and last time I checked, those were airplanes that flew into the twin towers. I've been to NY several times, and I've seen all the touristy crap before- but the last time I was here was the weekend right before 9/11, so this was new. I was a little pissed because they had everything completely walled off, so it was hard to get any good pics. I think a few of them might turn out, but we'll see. Sat night we went to a pumpkin carving party a friend of hers was throwing. Met a lot of pretty cool people there...several very attractive girls, but of course the chances of anything happening were 0% seeing as how I was there with Lissa. And lets be honst, even if I were there with a guy friend, nothing would have happened anyway- since I am a social moron. I of course won the pumpkin carving contest (sorry, people- but this was expected on my end- I'm pretty good at carving pumpkins). Anyway, my prize for winning, ironically enough, was a big afro wig. I of course though of you, Letty.

Sunday we went into upper manhatten to this place called Tryon park. There is a museum there called the cloisters where they hold a lot of mideval art- pretty neato stuff. Didn't do much of anything last night since Lissa had to go to work this morning.

Here are some observations I've made about NY in the past couple of days:
1) There are no fat people in NYC. Everyone spends so much time walking or riding their bikes, that you can't get fat.
2) Corn fed white boys like myself are the minority.
3) NYC is the greatest place on earth. as ironic as it may sound to people who have never been here, I am always amazed at the level of tolerance people around here have. With so many people living in such a small space, it is really a neccessity. I noticed on the subway yesterday that just in that particular car I was riding in, there was every race and skin color you've ever thought of and more. I have never been to place so ethnically diverse. I've been here six times now, and it sill boggles my mind.
4)Airport security is a joke. At the aiport in Dayton on Friday, I was waiting in line for 30 minutes to get through security...which really pissed me off because by the time I got through, I didn't have time to grab a beer while waiting for my flight. They had THREE people checking ID's- meaing in the course of about 50 yards, I had to show my ticket and ID to three different people. You have to take your shoes off, as if someone is going to attempt that little stunt again. They do random serches of bags. Is't that what the X-Ray machine is for? I was sitting there in line fuming, and this guy comes up behind me and says, "Is this the security check line?!"
I reply, "Yup. We'll all be sitting her for the better part of an hour, but thats ok- because I certainly feel safer." The guy behind me, being the idiot that he is, says, "If we have to take our shoes off, I think they should make women take their bras off..ha ha ha!" I'm thinking, great- I'm stuck next to this moron for the next thirty minutes of my life. There's a screaming baby in the security check line about 10 people in front of me, and I am just HOPING against hope this thing doesn't end up on my flight. Luckily, it didn't. What was really funny though was that in the seat next to me was a catholic priest- white colar and all- reading the bible during the flight. I found the irony almost unbearable and nearly started laughing when he sat down.

Anyway...I must shower and get to Legaurdia... more later.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host