Noise Pollution
2004-10-25, 5:49 p.m.

OK- back from NYC.... and boy are my legs tired! I had forgotten how much walking is involved in going to NYC.

Since none of you know who Lissa is, I'll give the cliff-notes version of our relationship. Lissa is the girl I dated through most of highschool and all of college. We have known each other for 13 years, and dated for 6 of those. We split after I moved to Dayton from Michigan. Lissa then moved out to NYC shortly afterwards. We maintained a friendship until I started dating Kasia- who I lived with for 2 years. Lissa is really a good person, but after seeing her again for the first time in 3 years (once this summer at a wedding and then this weekend), I remembered very quickly why I boke things off. She is very much the 'granola' girl....spends very little time worrying about her appearance- which in some ways is admirable, but in others is somewhat embarassing. I caught a glimps of her midrif the other day when she was stretching, and she has a fuckin' happy trail. She never really took care of the jungle down there. I had never thought much of it when I was younger, but now that I've been around the block a few times, I would never stand for that. I mean shit! I even do some housekeeping down there, and I'm a guy! Funny how your expectations change when you get older. Another thing I had forgotten was this really annoying laugh she has when she's nervous. She ends every setence that spews from her mouth with a little 'hehehe' whenever she's nervous. I guess she was somewhat nervous having me there, because it had started grating on my nerves after only a few hours. I am also not one to prattle on about totally meaningless shit. If I don't have anything to say, I don't say anything. She was apparently uncomfortable with stretches of silence while I was there, because she talked constantly. Not conversation, mind you- just talking. Its usually in good form to ask someone a question every now and then during a conversation, but that never seemed to occure to her. So I would sit there saying, "uh huh....uh huh....yeah....oh really?" And then I'd tune back in after a few minutes and realize I had no idea what she was talking about. Of course, she wasn't really talking about anything, so it isn't like I missed anything- she never noticed anyway, since she just kept blathering. We only really had one conversation the entire weekend- over a lunch of thai food on Sunday. She told me about her relationship with Eli- the guy she had been seeing- and I told her about Emily. Why can't people tolerate silence? Why does it make so many people so uncomfortable? I think people are so accustom to have noise going on- be it the TV or the radio, or listening to themselves, that they just can't bear to sit in silence. Hey- we don't need to be talking during the entire subway trip back to brooklyn. ESPECIALLY if you have nothing to say. Do you really think I give two shits about the family history of your roomate's boyfriend?
Speaking of people who talk constantly without saying anything, Jessica is coming over tonight. I haven't had sex or even jerked off in three days now, and I think if I waited any longer, I'd go nuts. I am seriously thinking about jerking off before she even gets here- which I'm sure will result in at least a couple of sex sessions. What I need to do is just throw her onto the bed right after she gets here so I won't have to listen to her emit noise pollution all evening....I put up with enough of that over the weekend.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host