Friday
2004-12-10, 10:27 a.m.

Haven�t had much time to post an entry the past few days- been spending most of my free time with Emily.

I invited Hallie over on Wednesday so I could tell her what was going on, and go figure- she bails on me! I�ve never been so happy to get brushed off. Now I don�t even need to confront her about it- she did all the work for me. I find the irony very comical. She I�m sure feels like she is hurting me, and in reality she has done me a huge favor. Only down side is that I loaned her my copy of �High Fidelity� which I�m sure I�ll never see again, but oh well. Paperback books aren�t exactly expensive.

I went with Emily last night to this Christmas pageant thing her son was in�..Good lord.
The father didn�t want him going to the lousy public school he would have attended, so he is paying for him to go to a private, catholic school. Now, one of the things Emily and I share is a mutual disdain for organized religion, so she of course wanted to drag me along- and in hindsight, I don�t think it was a good idea. There were several instances when we had to keep each other from laughing. There was something there I wanted to share, though. In the lobby area of the school chapel there was a rack of magazines and pamphlets and shit, and one of them was this Christian Magazine- I forget the name. I almost took it home with me I found it so funny. There was a picture of a US soldier on a tank and the caption read, �What is next for Christian Peacemakers?� I leaned over to Emily and said, �Christian Peacemakers? Now there�s a contradiction in terms.� I had asked Emily earlier that evening if she wanted to come over afterwards, and she was initially not sure, but halfway through the program, she leans over and says, �Yeah, I�m coming over- I�m gonna need a stiff drink after this.� To which I replied, �You and me both.�

I just hung up on my mom. She has gotten completely involved in the debacle with my dad. She called me at work on Wednesday and wanted to talk about it- I told her to call me at home later that I was not going to discuss this at work- I have people around me. So what does she do? She calls me at work today and starts talking about it again. I said, �I told you I am not talking about this at work.� CLICK. Probably a bad move on my part, but it really doesn�t concern her in the first place, and I made it plain that while I�m at work is NOT the time to be talking about it. Ugh. I think I�m the only one who isn�t terribly upset by this turn of events.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host