Superbowl
2005-02-07, 10:47 a.m.

So just like a good American, I watched (most) of the Superbowl. I�m so glad the Greeks were around so we could have a nice, confusing way of keeping track of them. Personally, I am looking forward to Superbowl MXCXVII. Watching the game, and in particular the post game show, I really felt disgusted. I started thinking of all of the money companies spend just to have their name attached to the whole circus. What I really found obnoxious was Cadillac. They sponsored the post game show, and the dude who won the MVP was given a brand new Cadillac! Woohoo!! I found myself wondering how many millions of dollars Cadillac spent to be able to give that car away. I mean, how much does it cost to have the privilege of giving your product away during the most watched sporting event in the world? And there was one of the announcers (paid by Cadillac) sitting there by the car, �Oh wow! What a great car! I wish I had one of these!� The car, which happened to be an XLR, costs roughly 60,000 dollars. So they awarded an athlete, who makes millions a year, a car that he could easily buy a half dozen of. That would be like you or I winning the lottery and the prize was 27 inch TV. And of course Cadillac bought about a dozen add spots to run their commercials during the breaks. But this is where I REALLY got disgusted: during the post game show, they had a guy from NASCAR on their plugging the Daytona 500 or something. What the fuck?!? NASCAR paid HUGE money just to have a guy sit there between the announcers and talk about the upcoming race. Absolutely shameless. Whats the matter? Your sport can�t stand on its own merits so you have to ride on the coattails of the NFL? The actual game has become secondary�.it is now all about money. I think I blame Fox for more of this than anything else. After all, they�re the ones who get all the money from the add revenues�.all the shameless, money grubbing ads. And right after the game (and I do mean RIGHT after it) there was an add on for the DVD of the championship run of the Patriots. Fox, literally minutes after the clock expired, already has an ad up for you to buy the highlight real. God forbid they actually take the time to put some effort into it�. They would have to have had people working on compiling the footage AS the game was going on. Hats and shirts are already printed, DVDs are already being burned- just so people can have the option of buying it RIGHT NOW. God forbid they have a day or two to think it over and decided they don�t REALLY need that piece of shit beer cozy with the Patriots logo on it They printed up thousands of hats and shirts that said, �Superbowl XXXIX champion Eagles� as well- and all of those will get destroyed. Money and resources wasted just so people could buy the product at their first impulse. CONSUME CONSUME CONSUME.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host