So anyway...
2005-04-06, 12:21 p.m.

I haven�t had much to say recently. I�m not really sure why, but nothing that is going on in my life really seems worth sharing. That may seem kind of an odd thing to say after I mention that Emily and I are officially engaged, and I am now officially broke as a result. Big news, I know- but for some reason it hasn�t been something I�ve been dying to tell everyone. I suppose I just think of it more as something between Emily and myself- and that it doesn�t really concern anyone else. I waited over two weeks to tell anyone in my family, and I only did that because I heard that my cousin Eric got engaged at almost the exact same time I did. I just thought it was too funny and coincidental not to share. Is that messed up? I felt more compelled to share the humor in the fact that Eric and I got engaged at the same time rather than the actual engagement. I really think part of it is that I don�t really want the added attention and pressure. Once I let the cat out of the bag, all the questions started pouring in. �When is the wedding?� �How did you propose?� �What kind of ring did you get?� �Where are you going on your honeymoon?� �What are her parents like?� �When are you going to start a family?� I guess I just wanted us to have a little time to ourselves. Emily of course immediately told everyone she knows- which is fine. She can answers all of those questions till the cows come home. I doubt that I�ll even tell anyone at work. Maybe they won�t notice that I�ll all of a sudden be wearing a wedding band. The only people outside of my family I�ve told are my friends John and Brian- both of whom live hundreds of miles away and really don�t care. I knew they wouldn�t be grilling me about this new turn of events. They were both like, �Really? Wow. Congratulations. So anyway...� Just how I like it.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host