sad state of affairs.
2005-05-03, 7:57 p.m.

What is happening to us? We've turned life into a race with no discernable path to victory. A race in which we're willing to trample over others to get ahead, only to find we don't know where we're going. I truly believe we have lost sight of what really matters. We work our fingers to the bone doing mindless, meaningless work, all in an effort to earn money so we can keep ourselves in the race. Why is it that all of a sudden, during our own lifetimes, owning a computer or a cell phone has practically become a neccessity? Didn't we get along ok without them? They're touted as things to make our lives easier- to make us happier. In the end, they only create frustration and resentment- pushing us further away from the imaginary goal we've set for ourselves.

At work today, my boss assigned me a new task of compiling data to help tabulate scrap costs in our area of the plant. Our total scrap dollars are already avaliable- thanks to someone else in the plant tabulating that data... I am to mearly look at the 'top 25 scrap items', and compare them to previous weeks. Well, I had to ask my boss, "We have nearly 350 parts in our area. Only looking at the top 25 doesn't really accomplish anything. That only accounts for about 30 percent of our total." His reply was, "I know, but the plant manager wants to see it in the scrap review every week." So I am now going to be spending at least a couple hours a week doing work that isn't neccessary, and is totally meaningless. It seems like my job is consitening of more and more of these pointless chores. I will do them because I don't want to loose my job. I will do them because I need my job so I can pay my mortgage, car payment, insurance, electric bill, etc etc etc. I will do them because I have pay these bills in order to buy more shit I really don't need in an effort to keep up with everyone else who is racing blindly towards an imaginary chance at fulfillment... just like me.

We've become so insulated and isolated from reality that we can no longer see the forest for the trees. Sitting at a desk all day doing hollow tasks in order to bring home a pay check you use to buy food and shelter isn't reality. Harvesting and raising your food and building your shelter.... THAT is reality. THAT would be fulfillment. Working WITH your neighbors instead of against them. We use to rely on each other to survive. Now we only seem to get in each others' way. We've truly lost our way when someone is willing to stab you in the back just so they can get one more foot up that ladder or put one more dollar in their wallet.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host