what should have been said months ago
2005-07-18, 2:45 p.m.

Well, here it is- after many rough drafts and way too much elapsed time, I finally wrote Paula a letter- its going in the mail tomorrow...

Dear Paula-

There have been several times now that I�ve tried to sit down and put into worlds some sort of an explanation or apology for what I had written and for what you unfortunately stumbled across. I know its been a long time and that you and I should probably have talked about this months ago, but at first, I was simply too angry to take that step. I was angry that my privacy had been invaded and I was angry that my father wanted me to apologize for it. However, as time has gone on and those feelings have faded, I began thinking more about what made me write the words that I did. I was no longer bitter or angry as to what had happened, but more regretful and reflective as to why it happened in the first place. I don�t know if you�re looking for an apology or if you�re even willing to try and put this in the past. I don�t know how close you and I can get even assuming that willingness exists on your part. I don�t know if this will ever be something we can just forgive and forget, and I don�t know what the next step will be assuming we�re willing to try and take it. All I know at this point is that I wanted to at least express to you the level of regret I have that any of this happened. I�ve gone back through several times and read over some of things I wrote last year and my heart sinks knowing that you�ve read them as well. I�m sure you know (or at least hope you do) that I would never have expressed those feelings of anger and frustration to you in person. If I sat here and apologized to you and told you I didn�t mean any of it I would be lying. Although those things were written a long time ago, I know at the time I was indeed feeling frustrated and angry. Like I said, I�ve spent a lot of time thinking about what happened, and I can tell you now that the mistake I made when writing those incredibly harsh things wasn�t so much that I wrote them, but to whom I directed those feelings towards. I know over the past year or so that you and I have had some problems- and I know I don�t need to explain to you what they are. While it was very easy at the time for me to brush off those problems and superficially lay the blame on you, I was never being honest with myself in doing so, and as a result, things obviously got terribly out of hand. The point I guess that I am trying to make is that I really haven�t handled your relationship with my dad very well; and for that, I do apologize. This has had nothing to do with you, and although it was very easy for me to think in those terms, it has led us to the unfortunate situation I have caused. I don�t think I handled your marriage to my dad very well because I don�t think I�ve ever handled MY relationship with my dad very well- especially after the divorce. As a result, it was very easy for me to dump my personal misgivings about him and I onto you. To say the least, that isn�t very fair to you. I don�t need to tell you that my dad and I aren�t all that close- not as close as I would want us to be, and I assume not as close as he would like, either. When I was younger, he always seemed to be working, and we never really spent as much time together as either of us would have liked. I don�t mean to sound like I resent him for it- quite the contrary. While he wasn�t around much, I have always known it was so he could provide for us the life he never had. I have seen a lot of changes in my dad since he met you, and I can tell you in all honesty that I�ve never seen him happier than these last few years. Now that I am older, and my dad (while still a workaholic) seems infinitely more relaxed, open and happy, him and I are both at a point in our lives where I think we both have the time and desire to strengthen our relationship, but after all these years, neither of us really knows how. I had a lot of expectations about things that, in hindsight, were fairly unrealistic. I was putting faith into a change that neither of us were capable of making, and when it didn�t happen, I grew angry, frustrated, and ultimately, blamed you for it. I don�t want to get too into detail on these things, but as far as the watch goes- my dad doesn�t seem to understand that I wasn�t upset about the money spent on it- it was the disparity between what was spent on my gift and Tricia�s. I was incredibly hurt by that, and since my dad had never done any of the gift shopping for my sister and I when we were growing up (that was always our mom�s job) I just assumed he had delegated that responsibility onto you. And last year, with the ceramic mugs, I realized that my dad really doesn�t know who I am anymore. I have changed quite a bit since we lived under the same roof, and while those ceramic mugs were something that was very �me� several years ago, my tastes have changed. I had already planned on discussing the option of us not exchanging gifts anymore when all of this happened. I am now aware of the fact that while I�ve always found my dad impossible to shop for, I too am now impossible to shop for as well. My point in bringing those things up is to let you know that despite how things sounded in my diary, I don�t begrudge you at all for the gifts. What I wrote in there was callous and rude, and there really isn�t any excuse for it.
I realize this is getting a bit long winded and while there really isn�t anything I can say to repair the damage I caused, I wanted to say one more thing. As you know, I am now engaged. A lot has changed in my life in the past several months, and a big part of me deeply regrets that you and my dad haven�t been there to share in it. I very much want to get this behind us so those things can be rectified. I want you both to meet Emily, and I know she wants to meet the two of you. She is of course aware of all of the things that have happened, and in a lot of ways, she can empathize. Her and her mother had been on the outs for several years and only recently began mending their relationship. She has expressed to me several times the regret that both her and her mother feel about those lost years, and I don�t want to stand by and watch that happen in this family. Also, as I�m sure you know, Emily has a son who just turned 10 years old. He�s a great kid and we get along really well, but I am now experiencing first hand the pressure that comes with taking someone else�s children into your life. I never stopped to think about the stress that both you and my dad must have gone through (and are undoubtedly still going through) because of Tricia, Mathew and myself- and it seriously pains me to think about how many of those problems I have inadvertently caused within our family because of my carelessness. I genuinely hope that we�re able to find a way to leave this in the past. I know that this is something neither of us will ever forget, but I hope you can at least find a way to forgive.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host