rich kids
2005-10-18, 12:52 p.m.

For some reason, I never have the motivation to post on here anymore. Not exactly sure why that is, but it is. The company I work for filed for bankruptcy protection last week. Joy. I don�t think I�m in any danger of loosing my job� yet. I�m not about to wait around to find out, though. I�ve been looking at other job prospects with more stable companies- something NOT related to the auto industry. Speaking of jobs, Emily finally had an interview with a temp agency last week, and hopefully they�ll place here before too much longer. That will be a huge weight off my shoulders, and a big boost to her self-esteem, I think. I hope.
I read something the other day about this school on Long Island that cancelled its Senior Prom for this school year. The reasons behind the cancellation, a decision made by the school�s principal, I think are very commendable:
Students putting down $10,000 to rent a party house in the Hamptons.
Pre-prom cocktail parties followed by a trip to the dance in a liquor-loaded limo.
Fathers chartering a boat for their children's late-night booze cruise.
"It is not primarily the sex/booze/drugs that surround this event, as problematic as they might be; it is rather the flaunting of affluence, assuming exaggerated expenses, a pursuit of vanity for vanity's sake -- in a word, financial decadence."
AMEN. Emily was telling me about something she saw on TV showcasing families that were spending hundreds of thousands of dollars on their daughters� sweet 16 parties- one of the fathers bought her daughter a brand new 50,000 dollar BMW only to have her daughter fail her driver�s test. I think its really sad that a school has to finally step in and tell these sad excuses for parents that they, and their children, are totally out of control. What kind of morals do these parents think they are instilling in their children? So you have a lot of money- good for you. I am not about to sit here and grumble and complain because these people have more money than they do pockets. I just find the complete lack of responsibility these people are exhibiting absolutely sickening. Children aren�t suppose to get everything they want- does anyone else remember Veruca Salt from Charlie and Chocolate Factory? That is exactly who these kids are. Spoiled brats who�s parents don�t know the meaning of the word �no�. I know money can buy a lot of things in this world (just ask OJ Simpson), but it can�t buy everything, and before too much longer these kids will be sticking their big toes in the real world. And when they do, they�re going to find a lot of people just itching for the chance to knock them down a notch or two. I get a certain degree of satisfaction from hearing about that father who bought his daughter the BMW. What kind of idiot drops that kind of money on a car for his daughter before she�s even proven herself capable of driving it?! Does wealth really cause that kind of stupidity? Just like pretty much everyone else, I�ve dreamed about being rich and about how much easier life would be if I had a bottomless bank account. But when I read and hear about things like this, I really think I�m better off without all of that money. It�s easy to sit here and ridicule these parents for their decadence, but would I be any different? After all, you can�t fault these people for wanting to make their children happy. But what satisfaction can they obtain from having a BMW or a hundred pairs of shoes if there is no real value attached to the money used to buy those things? I think I would rather be where I am now than being filthy rich with a spoiled rotten kid who�s high school principal is being forced to do my parenting for me because I�m too busy sailing my yacht to actually instill any values in my own children.

3 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host