Liar
2006-11-29, 2:57 p.m.

The title of someone else�s recent entry, �Maybe they do all lie�, really got me to thinking. I don�t think I�ve ever been really truly completely honest in any relationship I�ve ever been in. In my past, some of those lies have been huge- things that I would have broken up with someone over had they been lying to me about them. I have had several girlfriends who I have cheated on, for example. I would have been furious and devastated had I discovered they were cheating on me, but I did it anyway. I don�t know why. I don�t know what compelled me to act in such a selfish callous manor, but I did. None of these were girls I seriously considered settling down with, but that doesn�t excuse it. I can say that I have not, nor am I planning on cheating on my wife. Of course, the opportunity hasn�t really presented itself, but I would like to think that even if it did, I wouldn�t do it... but how can I know for sure unless I am confronted with that choice? There are things I have lied to my wife about, however. Well, to be more specific, they were actually �omissions� that I just didn�t share with her- such as last summer when she found out I had been smoking. I guess it just really gets to me that I have never given anyone that I have been close with in that way the same respect and courtesy I expected from them. Have there been girls who have lied to or cheated on me? Undoubtedly. But at this point I can honestly say I don�t really care about those times in the past. I do know however, that if I were to discover some deceit on the part of Emily, I would be incredibly hurt. I hope that I have changed as a person, and that the parts of me that were so insensitive and disrespectful of my partners are all in the past. I would like to think that they are. I�m sure there are little things I will always lie about. �It wasn�t me, it was the dog.� I mean, is anyone ever completely honest with the people they love?

4 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host