Speed Bump
2005-01-26, 12:20 p.m.

Aye yey aye! I should have known we�d hit a speed bump sooner or later. Things have been going very well with Emily since we got back together- no real problems to speak of- a couple minor arguments, but that�s it. Well, that all changed yesterday. Now, maybe I�m just a callous insensitive prick, but I don�t see why she is making such a huge deal out of this. Here is what happened: my old computer has been on the verge of dying on me for quite some time now, and I had expressed to Emily several times that I would like to get a new one. I wasn�t in any real hurry because a) my old one was still skirting along, and b) a new computer is expensive, dude! Well, the CD-ROM drive on my old one finally went belly up, and rather than spending money to put my old POS on life support, I went ahead and ordered a new one�.and I didn�t tell her about it until the day it arrived. So she came over yesterday and I showed her my new toy and she was immediately pissed off. She said she was mad because I didn�t tell her about such a big purchase when I decided to buy one (which was three days before it arrived, btw). We have been talking about long-term plans now for a little while- potentially getting married down the road, etc. So she says, �I guess I know where your priorities lie now. We�re never getting married, are we?� And then she left. Later on we were talking on the phone and I said, �Me buying a new computer doesn�t mean you and I aren�t getting married- I told you a while ago that I been thinking of getting a new one, and I needed it. I had no idea my not telling you about this before hand would upset you so much- I�m really sorry. Had I known, I would have told you about.� She responds, �I�m not mad that you bought it- had you told me you were going to, I would have been all for it. It�s the fact that you didn�t tell me about it that upsets me.� This of course contradicted what she said earlier in the day. She then says that she doesn�t want to hear me complaining about money ever again, etc etc. Lots of other stuff was said, voices were raised, at one point she called me stupid, yadda yadda yadda.
Now, is it just me, or is she totally overreacting? I think the real reason she is pissed off is because she feels this will delay any engagement ring that would be coming her way. She denies that of course, but I can�t for the life of me understand why she would be so upset about me not telling her about this when I ordered it.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host