Resolution
2005-01-27, 10:01 a.m.

Well, my intuition has yet again served me well. I kind of assumed that the real reason Em was so upset wasn't so much about the computer, and it wasn't so much about me not telling her. We talked yesterday for a couple of hours about a lot of shit, most of which in one form or another tied back into me spending that money. Even if I had told her I was doing it, she still would have been upset. What it all boiled down to is the fact that on more than one occasion in her past, previous boyfriends she�s had have told her, �yeah, we�ll get married, yeah, we�ll get engaged� and then didn�t follow through. I guess in one instance, a guy she had been dating had told her he wanted to get married, and then proceeded to buy a new house instead- without consulting her. Now, if you�re planning to marry someone, they�re going to be living with you, and they should probably have a say in where the two of you live... In another instance, a guy had been saving up some money for a ring and then after the two of them had an argument, he went out and blew the money partying with his friends. So when she walked in and saw the computer, she basically had d�j� vu all over again. She apologized for having drug her past into things and making a big deal about it. Obviously you can't help the way you feel about things, and I would never have held it against her had she mentioned that from the beginning. I explained to her that while she may have been in this sort of position before, I have not. The whole �looking toward the future� thang is new to me. I have never been in a situation where I have been making long-term plans with someone before- which is odd considering I have been in longer relationships than her and actually lived with someone for almost 3 years, but I digress.
So in short, I promised that I would inform her and talk to her about anything of this sort in the future, and that I would do a better job of listening to her in the future and not just immediately assume she is being psycho and completely irrational (I of course didn�t use those words). We also talked about how we both need to do a better job of listening to each other when we aren�t happy or are upset by something. We both have a tendency to cut each other off during an argument in an attempt to interject, and that of course only compounds the problem because both of us end up feeling as though the other isn�t really listening to what we have to say.
Anyway, here is a picture of the culprit:
>
Isn�t it purty?

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host