Ding-Dong the Pope is Dead!
2005-04-15, 11:08 a.m.

I saw a T-Shirt online the other day that I thought summed up the passing of John Paul II perfectly. A picture of the Pope with a caption under it reading, �Only the Good Die Young.� This past week has been nothing but Pope-a-palooza. Needless to say, I was getting really irritated at all the coverage it was getting. Millions of people flew to Rome to pay homage to a guy who upheld religious doctrines most of them didn�t believe in, and who tried to brush the sexual abuse scandal under the rug. Yeah, he was one helluva great guy. Hey, Pope- what do you think about letting priests get married? NO! How about allowing women priests? NO! Do you think we should treat homosexuals fairly and with dignity? NO! Do you think we should punish priests who engage in homosexual pedophilia? NO! ....yeah.... how about that? So lets break this down, shall we? If you dictate that you only want men in the priesthood, and you don�t want them to get married (which is code for having sex with women), who exactly do you think is going to be attracted to a job with those limitations...who could it be? I don�t know about you, but my guess would be men who really don�t have an interest in getting married (code for having sex with women) in the first place. And who isn�t really interested in sex with women? Homosexuals come to mind! But wait! How can that be? Homosexuality is a sin, right? Well, I guess not so much if you�re a catholic priest, according to his holiness. The Catholic Church is nothing but a bloated sack or contradictory monkey spunk. I think Michael Jackson missed his calling. They say that consensual sex between two men is wrong, but then proceed to rape little boys. They take vows of celibacy and swear off sex- except for with young boys. And these are the people telling us what is right and wrong? Telling us what is a sin and what isn�t? That�s like taking financial advice from Ken Lay or asking president Bush the proper pronunciation of the word �nuclear�. Point being, the guy was a total fucking creep who basically turned Catholicism into a punch line, and I�m glad he�s dead. I�ve never seriously wished death on anyone, but that doesn�t mean I can�t be happy when it happens. With any luck, the next Pope will be a little more hip to what is going on in 21st century so all of the bible thumpers out there who are going to follow him like a pack of mindless sheep will be able to lighten the fuck up a little. �Well, before, the Pope said homosexuality was a sin, so I thought it was a sin. Now, the new Pope is saying its OK and that we�re all God�s children, so I guess its ok.� If you choose to believe in God and religion, and you believe that the Pope is the human vessel through which God speaks, how is it that the voice of God changes each time there is a new Pope? And I�m not talking about vocal intonations or a southern accent. What is right and wrong according to the Catholic Church changes each time a new Pope is ordained. So you�re not listening to God�s word- you�re listening to an old windbag who pretends to be Holy. If I were to believe in God, I think I�d just get my advice straight from the source rather than having an over the hill, out of touch European act as an interpreter.

0 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host