Lets call a Spade a Spade
2006-09-18, 2:10 p.m.

Several days ago, the Pope gave a speech in which he quoted an ancient Byzantine emperor who characterized some of the teachings of Islam's Prophet Muhammad as evil and inhuman and referred to the propensity of Islam to spread its teachings through the use of violence. Understandably, a lot of Muslims were outraged by the remarks. In fact, a lot of them were so upset that they threw firebombs at seven churches in the West Bank and Gaza Strip. In Basra, 150 of them gathered to burn an effigy of the Pope. Others were so upset they were compelled to murder an Italian nun in Somalia. Al Queda was so outraged that the Pope would make such remarks that they sent out a video stating, "We shall break the cross and spill the wine ... God will help Muslims to conquer Rome ... May God enable us to slit their throats, and make their money and descendants the bounty of the mujahideen." I personally can�t begin to imagine why the Pope would infer that some Muslims have a propensity for violence. Muslims from all over the world were demanding an apology from the pontiff, which to my amazement, he actually did. If I were him, I would have said, �I know several Muslims have taken serious offense to my remarks the other day and are insisting that I apologize. I would just like to thank all of you for proving my point.�

Here�s a tip to all of you radical Muslims: If someone accuses you of being violent, bombing, murdering and issuing death threats isn�t usually the best way to show indignation.

1 comments from the peanut gallery
last - next
current | archives | profile | notes | host